About? | Blog! | Projects. | Gallery!!


Entry 6: Revenge of the thursdays

oof, not a lot of big stuff to talk about this week. I've just sort of been doodling and watching youtube. and yet, the blog must go on...

hmm... I've been drinking more coffee these days. I really shouldn't get into the habit, but the coffee at the bakery tastes really good, so it's ended up being a treat. funnily enough, though, because I've been drinking it more, I got an iced coffee drink from starbucks the other day and.. man, starbucks kinda sucks, huh? :V I'm glad there aren't any in walking distance of me, because it means the only time I get some is when I go to the grocery store and they have a seasonal flavor I'm curious about. (it's always dissapointing, though, so I hardly bother.) either way, though, I should be careful how much coffee I'm drinking. It's a tasty treat and can on occasion give me wizard powers, but like anything that can give you wizard powers, if you dabble in it too much, it'll fuck you up.

I enjoy making blog posts, although I feel a bit weird making one and not really having any creative stuff to talk about this time. but you know what, that's also the part of my brain that gives me shit for not constantly churning work out, and that guy can be kind of an ass sometimes. all in all, though I hope to tell anyone reading thing about anything I'm working on with each post, mostly the blog is a thing I'm doing for me, because it lets me think about what I've been up to. although, I guess I could go even deeper in what creative projects means, and talk about just general writing things... eh fuck it why not? come on over to...

THE WRITING KITCHEN:

So my big writing issue I've been rotating in my brain for ages trying to solve is the placement of this character I have, name of Arthur.



I have his general backstory down, but I don't know where to put him after all that. basically, he was this legendary hero who would go around doing general RPG protaganist things, until finally he went up against Laurel (the main villain of my thing) and got himself killed. the rest of Arthurs party sets up a force field around the country Laurel is occupying (countrys name is Dualiti), they try to fight against him but they just can't beat him. the main story takes place 1000 years after all of this goes down. (Laurel and the forces fighting against him are locked in an eternal stalemate that both sides are getting pretty tired of, the country is still sealed off from the rest of the world, and people on both sides sort of mythologize Arthur for being the first person to try and fight back against Laurel.)

What I want for Arthur's role is that he does come back somehow 1000 years later, but I'm not quite sure how he does. it would likely tie into Dualiti's gods and the fact that he was given some pretty strong magic from the sun god back when he was getting ready to fight Laurel for the first time, but I keep running into questions that make everything fall apart. with a lot of the solutions, it's mostly stuff like, "why is he only back 1000 years later instead of any other time?" or "will this jeopradize his ability to make out with his cool boyfriend", but I think the biggest problem in finding a place for Arthur is that.. well.. he's a heroic character being written by a guy who usually writes about morally dubious bastards hitting eachother with hammers.

don't get me wrong, I love Arthur! it's just that it's hard to latch onto him when mostly he's just a nice person. I'm worried I've made him a little boring. it could also be because the music I listen to doesn't lend itself well to characters that aren't locked in a constant cycle of self-sabotage and murder like SOME people. *glares at Laurel and Vex*

who knows. maybe my problem is I need to broaden my musical palate. the problem with writing someone who you mostly use for having other characters angst over how great and nice they were is that when you want to actually pull them out of the fridge and make them a character, it ends up being hard as hell.


Entry Date 1/26/23